//
you're reading...
Ashby-De-La-Zouch, England

Just Like the Movies

No, I didn’t fall off the face of the earth – nor was I a victim of the alleged rapture – but we had visitors so I was busy exploring Ashby.   Being the demanding host that I am I took Taunya to the Leisure Center for a Body Flow session.   During class I managed to somehow get myself turned around so I boldly suggested to our instructor she should learn to speak English so I could follow her directions!  Thankfully she has a great sense of humor and an even better laugh!  Taunya kindly turned down my invitation to the next day’s Body Sculpt class….maybe my hosting skills got the best of her – or she has more common sense than I do!!

We managed to venture into some quaint shops and enjoyed our conversations with all the local shop owners.   As Taunya so aptly stated, “I feel like I’m part of a Benny Hill movie”!  Let’s just say we practiced an unusual amount of restraint with our new friend, Penny.  Penny has an eclectic shop (with a great assortment of fascinators) but it was Penny that was most eccentric!  With her strong cockney accent and propensity for saying whatever it was that popped into her head (“How do you cope with menopause”, “Your teeth are very white”, “Americans must have good hair dressers”, “I wish I had a camera so I could take your picture because I can’t believe you are 40 something (to Taunya)”, “I haven’t been to the US but I’ve been to Vancouver”…so I asked her if she enjoyed the Vancouver Olympics…”I didn’t go to the Olympics, I went to Vancouver”)!  All the time Penny was peering at us over the top of her little glasses and grinning with her obviously not American white teeth.  Quite a character!!

We will be enjoying a bank holiday on Monday so are planning on venturing outside Ashby.  We are considering a train trip to Birmingham (we could easily drive but I want to figure out the train so I can spend time in Birmingham should the spirit move me).  Stratford-on-Avon is also on our short list for a day trip.  It is home to Shakespeare and has some great architecture to photograph!   Manchester United plays Barcelona Saturday evening so we will likely find a local watering hole to catch the game and share a pint with whoever cares to join us. 

Before I sign off for today I want to share my new, favorite joke…

Queen Elizabeth was retiring for the evening.  As she pulled the sheets up under her chin she says to Phillip, “Now I look like a postage stamp”!!!  My humor continues to be as juvenile as always…but so much more refined don’t ya think????

Bya and cheers!!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Words of Wisdom

Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future. - John F. Kennedy
