//
you're reading...
Cindy's ramblings

Signs, Signs Everywhere a Sign

…blocking out the scenery breakin’ my mind.  Do this don’t do that can’t you read the sign??????   Ok, this really has nothing to do with anything but it popped into my feeble brain as I was working on my most recent photos.  Thanks to The Five Man Electrical Band for the inspiration.

Anyway two weeks ago (gasp…I really fell off the blog wagon and I do apologize) we meandered out of the big city of Ashby-de-la-Zouch (population 11,000) and ended up at the Staunton Harold Reservoir where this was going on…

Sailing is a big deal in Europe; however, Great Britian is far from the “Land of 10,000 Lakes” so in-land water activities are limited to places like this.  The reservoir is manmade and not even as big as Lake Elmo but it was host to a regatta.  It was pretty much a lot of sailboats navigating turn, after turn, after turn when they ran out of lake.  But nevertheless, it was cool to see!

We spent the next 1-1/2 hours on one of the many “public footpaths” that wind through the British countryside.  No mountains to scale, sheep to dodge or traffic to fight but we did see this…

I guess it was a good thing we left Oliver with my folks because I would hate to see these guys upset (especially when we were that close)…

Next we ran into a rural super market…

…that worked on the honor system…

We continued our stroll through the countryside walking down lane after lane after…

 

But never in our right minds did we anticipate this…in the countryside, with livestock that are afraid of dogs…

Where is my air traffic control cousin when I need him?  (Not to rub it in but I think he was bailing hay in 90 degree Wisconsin heat…)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Words of Wisdom

Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future. - John F. Kennedy
